Schengen countries list with a common Schengen visa policy

The Schengen area is a zone of 26 European countries without border control between them. These 26 Schengen countries have acknowledged the abolishment of their internal borders for free and unrestricted movement of people, goods and services, and with common rules for controlling external borders. All of the member states in the Schengen countries list are located in Europe. You can visit all these countries with a Schengen visa

LisSchengen countries list with a common Schengen visa policyt of Schengen countries
Schengen Countries List

Schengen Area and Map

As mentioned above, currently the Schengen Area consists of 26 member states. It covers an area of 1,664,911 square miles i.e. 4,312,099 square kilometers. The external borders of the Schengen Area stretch over 50,000 km long, comprising 80% water and 20% of the land. Hundreds of airports and maritime ports are situated in the area.

Schengen ZonePassport-free area with a common visa policy
Number of member countries26
Established26 March 1995
Total area4,312,099 square kilometers
Number of crossings per year1.3 billions
Population 419,392,429 citizens as of 2018
Schengen Area

Schengen Map

              Map of Schengen Area

Schengen countries list

Here is the list of Schengen countries:

Czech RepublicItalyPortugal
Schengen Member Countries

Schengen Member Countries

  • Currently there are 26 member states in the Schengen Zone.
  • Out of which, 22 countries have fully implemented the Schengen Acquis
  • Remaining four countries – Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein – are members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and implement the Schengen Acquis through specific agreements vis-a-vis the Schengen Agreement
  • The Canary Islands, Azores and Madeira are parts of the Schengen Zone even though they are not located in the European continent.
  • Five more European Members that have not yet been admitted to the Schengen zone – Ireland (which still maintains opt-outs), Cyprus, Croatia, Romania, and Bulgaria – are seeking to join soon.

European Microstates and Schengen Zone

San Marino, Vatican City and Monaco have no border controls with the Schengen countries, but they are not parts of the Schengen Area. Monaco shares an open border with France and Vatican City and San Marino have an open border with Italy. Andorra has border controls with both France and Spain, but accepts multiple-entry Schengen visas. 

Common visa policy of Schengen countries

Nationals of each country that is a part of Schengen countries and doesn’t have a visa agreement with European Union member states need a Schengen visa for Schengen Zone. The EU member states have a common visa policy and a common list of the countries the citizens of which need to get a visa to enter the Schengen territory. Visa exemptions are determined case by case by the EU.

Schengen visas allow you to stay and travel in the member states of the Schengen Zone for a maximum of 90 days in any 6 months period. The embassy or consulate of your Schengen destination country will issue a visa depending on the purpose of your travel. Schengen visa types depend on the purpose of your visit to the area.

Non-Schengen countries in Europe

Here is the list of Schengen countries that are not part of the Schengen area:

  • Albania
  • Andora
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Kosovo
  • North Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom 
  • Vatican City.

NRIs living in the Schengen countries may have several India related queries. To ask any questions related to the rights of NRIs, PIOs, and OCIs, you can download SBNRI App from the Google Play Store or App Store. You can also use the SBNRI app for investment in stock market/ mutual funds, NRI account opening, tax filing, etc. To ask any questions, click on the button below. Also, visit our blog and YouTube channel for more details. 

Ask Indian Friend Now


Is the United Kingdom part of the Schengen Area?

No. The UK is a European country but not a part of the Schengen Zone and you can’t enter the UK with a Schengen visa. 

What is the Schengen Borders Agreement?

The Schengen Borders Agreement allows people of the zone to move freely within the area, by passing borders from one country to another during regular hours of operation.  

Can I use the same Schengen visa to travel to more than one member country?

Yes, you can travel within the Schengen territory with the same visa as long as you don’t exceed the visa validity period granted. 

Copy link